Tags

, , , ,

Host Beehives for Free Local Honey

By Joy Moran, Sound Advantage Realty

Albert Einstein once said “If the bee disappears from the surface of the Earth, man would have no more than four years left to live.

Ever since moving to a rural area near Olympia WA, I’ve thought about keeping some bees for pollination and a verifiable source of local honey (said to improve allergy symptoms) but I had procrastinated. That is, until I met a beekeeper who was looking for a place to keep some hives and offered me free honey in exchange. This arrangement, known as honeybee hosting, seemed like a natural win-win solution. The beekeeper gets pesticide-free foraging for his bees and time for natural hive building and I get plenty of hyper-local honey, without having to learn beekeeping.The beekeeper stops by regularly to care for the hives, and one day I came home to find 6 quarts of natural raw honey on my front porch. SWEET!

Image

One-third of all US crops depend on honeybee pollination. Thirty years ago, growers could rely on a combination of native pollinating insects and local honeybees for most crops. Since then, for a variety of reasons, the world’s honeybee population has declined by half. Bees have to be trucked in to large scale agricultural farms for pollinating or food crops will suffer and food costs rise.

Image

Honey from my own backyard! FREE!

Micro-scale, local, natural beekeeping will help build healthy hives to pollinate our future.n Want to find out more? If you live on 3 acres or more and would like to try honeybee hosting, contact a beekeepers association in your area and ask to be connected with a local beekeeper willing to place hives. Or get in touch with me and I will put you in contact with my beekeeper.

SEARCH FOR HOMES IN OLYMPIA THURSTON COUNTY

Sound Advantage Realty

